Scholarship honours Professor Beryl Nashar

  • By AusIMM Geoscience Society

Professor Beryl Nashar died in May 2012. She was a pioneer in the field of geology, an outstanding academic, community advocate and tireless worker for the advancement of women throughout the world, who achieved a long list of firsts during a lifetime of accomplishment.

Beryl Nashar.

Professor Nashar graduated from the University of Sydney with First Class Honours in Geology and the University Medal. She completed her PhD under the supervision of Professor S.W. Carey at the University of Tasmania.

Her memory and her achievements have been honoured with a scholarship established at the University of Newcastle.

The Beryl Nashar Scholarship for Excellence in Geology was established by her family and friends. A former student has also contributed a substantial amount to the scholarship, in honour of his teacher and the impact she had on his life.

The ongoing scholarship is open to students of the University of Newcastle and is intended to encourage and reward the student who has excelled in Third Year Earth Science (Geology) and is proceeding to Fourth Year (Honours in Geology).

Emeritus Professor Beryl Nashar was the Foundation Chair of Geology at the University of Newcastle and worked at the university for 25 years. She was also the first female dean of science at an Australian university and the first Australian woman to be awarded a Rotary Foundation Fellowship which funded the first year of her PhD research at the University of Cambridge in the UK.

Any of her other friends, colleagues and students who would like to honour her memory are welcome to make a tax deductible donation to support the Scholarship, by contacting the University of Newcastle Foundation.

To make a donation

Online – To pay online – go to and choose the ‘other’ drop down box.  Then type in “The Beryl Nashar Scholarship for Excellence in Geology” and it will be allocated against the scholarship.   You will get an automated receipt.

Cheque – Please make cheques payable to The University of Newcastle and mailed to Leanne Innes, Development Coordinator (scholarships & Prizes) Office of Alumni and Philanthropy, IDC Building, IDC129, The University of Newcastle 2308.

Phone – call +61 2 4921 7453 for credit card payment

EFT payment – available on request, email

Share This Article