AusIMM Illawarra Branch Presidential Dinner

  • By Colin Seaborn, AusIMM Illawarra Branch Committee member

The AusIMM Illawarra Branch held its annual dinner on Wednesday 31 August at the Illawarra TAFE restaurant. This restaurant is a training facility for hospitality students at the TAFE.

Features of the night (besides the meal and refreshments!) included:

  • a summary of branch activities by Branch Chair Rod Haselden
  • student reports on four field trips (partly sponsored by the Branch), covering geology, mining and metallurgy/materials
  • presentation of AusIMM membership awards from ten years up to 60 years, including Ray Binns (60 years), Bill Watson and Colin Seaborn (50 years each)
  • an address by AusIMM Board member, Diana Drinkwater, on recent AusIMM initiatives in light of industry changes.
Diana Drinkwater and Rod Haselden.
University of Wollongong students reporting on field trips.
Bill Watson with his 50 years of membership award.
Ray Binns with his 60 years of membership award.
Share This Article